Experiences

Many food banks routinely purchase products to compliment the donated surplus they receive, and to support specific programs. However, during the COVID-19 pandemic, food banks dramatically increased their purchasing to secure access to essential products – 89% of food banks in the network are now purchasing products to meet local needs.

Purchasing a large volume of product has a big impact on the food bank’s budget and in turn requires extra funds to be raised. Therefore, some food banks have developed innovative approaches to purchasing that are more cost-effective than just buying at wholesale and can have other reputational or relational benefits.

This vFBLI Experience will showcase examples from three food banks:

  • Foodbank Australia
  • India FoodBanking Network
  • FareShare, UK

In late January, check back here to view presentations and materials detailing their purchasing strategies. We encourage you to review those materials. You can then join us on 17 February or 24 February for a live Zoom chat with staff from those three food banks who will be answering your questions. Please leave questions or comments in the chat box below.

In order to accommodate multiple time zones, there will be two live Q&A sessions conducted. Both these sessions will be recorded and made available for viewing on this website.

17 February: Live Zoom Q&A with the food bankers (available in English only).

  • 2:00 – 3:00 a.m. Chicago
  • 8:00 – 9:00 a.m. London
  • 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. Delhi
  • 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. Hong Kong
  • 7:00 – 8:00 p.m. Sydney

24 February: Live Zoom Q&A with the food bankers (available in English and Spanish).

  • 7:00 – 8:00 a.m. Chicago
  • 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. London
  • 6:30 – 7:30 p.m. Delhi
  • 9:00 – 10:00 p.m. Hong Kong
  • 12:00 – 1:00 a.m. Sydney

Please leave questions or comments below and remember to tell us who you are and where you’re commenting from. Type your name and country into the Sign In box and then leave your comment.

APT - 25th Anniversary Book

Download

25 AÑOS NUTRIENDO VIDAS (Spanish)

25 YEARS FEEDING LIVES (English)

Click the video on the left to go on a virtual tour of Alimento para Todos (Food for All). Alimento para Todos (APT) is the food bank serving Mexico City and is a member of Bancos de Alimentos de Mexico – the National Network of food banks in Mexico.

If you want to learn more about APT after taking the virtual tour, The Management Team of Alimento para Todos will be hosting another Q&A Session in the coming weeks

Ask questions or post inquiries below and remember to tell us who you are and where you’re commenting from. Type your name and country into the Sign In box and then leave your comment.

Staff Login Area