Starting a Food Bank – Moving from Concept to Impact

Food banks seek to unify two missions in one entity – the reduction of food loss and waste and the delivery of food resources to the hungry. By facilitating an infrastructure that allows for the collection and redistribution of food that is surplus and unsaleable, they create a bridge between surplus and need. As such, a food bank is truly a community asset. The network of partnerships that the food bank establishes in a community are as essential to a healthy community environment as the police department, the fire department, the education system, and the health care system, etc.

Throughout the past decade or so, and especially in the past year due to the devastating global economic situation resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, many people and organizations have expressed the desire to establish food banks in their communities. Increasingly often, GFN receives inquiries from these people and organizations asking for guidance in the establishment of their food banks.

In an effort to provide substantive response to such inquiries GFN is hosting an online session titled Starting a Food Bank – Moving from Concept to Impact. This session will provide clear and concise definition of the food banking concept and an overview of the process of establishing a food bank on a solid, viable, and sustainable foundation.

Tuesday 5 October

  • 11:00 – 13:00 UTC -5 (Chicago 11:00 am)
  • 17:00 – 19:00 UTC +1 (London 5:00 pm)
  • 18:00 – 20:00 UTC +2 (Johannesburg 6:00 pm)
  • 00:00 – 02:00 Wednesday 6 October UTC + 8 (Hong Kong 12:00 am)

Speaker:

Materials