The Future of Food Security – Keynote Presentation by Dr. Robert L. Thompson

Title

Download

The Future of Food Security - English

El futuro de la seguridad alimentaria

Food access and food insecurity are fundamentally shaped by dynamic trends in agricultural production, dietary preferences, trade, and policies at national and global levels. In this session, Dr. Thompson will review the current drivers of food availability globally and resource constraints on future food production – especially in regions affected by urbanization and climate change. He will also address volatility and trends in food prices, how policy distortions affect agriculture and the food system, and public and private stakeholders in the food system.

This session will provide a comprehensive picture of the forces governing food production and availability, focusing on the relationship between food insecurity and poverty and where hunger might be most acute in the years ahead.

Wednesday 14 April

  • 08:00 – 09:30 UTC -5 (Chicago, Bogota 8:00 am)
  • 14:00 – 15:30 UTC +1 (London 2:00 pm)
  • 21:00 – 22:30 UTC +8 (Hong Kong 9:00 pm)

SPEAKER:

  • Dr. Robert L. Thompson, Senior Fellow, Global Agricultural Development and Food Security, Chicago Council on Global Affairs, USA

This session will be available in English and Spanish.

Following Dr. Thompson’s presentation there will be time for questions from the audience.

This session will be on the record and a video recording will be available for viewing following the event.

 


Date

14-Apr-2021

Time

8:00 am - 9:30 am

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: 14-Apr-2021
  • Time: 9:00 am - 10:30 am

Follow Us