Rethinking Food Systems for a Post-COVID World – Keynote Presentation by Dr. Shenggen Fan

Hover over video and click to select

Download Presentation

Speaker

Title

Language

Download

Dr. Shenggen Fan

Rethinking Food Systems

English

Dr. Shenggen Fan

Rethinking Food Systems

Spanish

The world was already battling with hunger and malnutrition before 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in millions more people being pushed towards poverty and hunger this year. This is a wakeup call to rethink food systems for the future. Resilience must be a key element to protect smallholder producers, poor consumers and other vulnerable populations. Investing in smallholders and social protection, partnership with the private sector, and engaging with emerging economies will be essential in building resilient food systems to tackle future challenges in climate change and depletion of natural resources, hunger and malnutrition.

This session will be available in English and Spanish.

This session will be on the record and a video recording will be available for viewing following the event.

SPEAKERS:

  • Dr. Shenggen Fan, Chair Professor at the College of Economics and Management at China Agricultural University (CAU), Beijing, China.

Thursday 13th August

  • 08:30 – 09:30 UTC -5 (Chicago 8:30 am)
  • 14:30 – 15:30 UTC +1 (London 2:30 pm)
  • 21:30 – 22:30 UTC + 8 (Beijing 9:30 pm)

Date

13-Aug-2020

Time

8:30 am - 9:30 am

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/Los_Angeles
  • Date: 13-Aug-2020
  • Time: 6:30 am - 7:30 am
Staff Login Area